Price claims third Grand Slam of Darts title with dominant win over Wright

Gerwyn Price is the winner of the Grand Slam of Darts for a third time after beating Peter Wright in a dominant display 16-8.

Price defeated Wright last time around at the Aldersley Leisure Village in a similarly dominant win and it was a truly brilliant display from 'The Iceman' who averaged 104 and collects his first major win since winning the World Darts Championship last year.

Price had a superb start to proceedings hitting a 140 checkout in the opening leg before coasting into a 3-0 lead with a 112 average.

Wright finally got off the mark but he made no further inroads at the first interval as Price went into a 4-1 lead.

'Snakebite' missed five darts at doubles on return but found double nine to sit at 4-3 behind. But Price surged away again with a break back immediately sitting at 7-3 at the next interval.

It was becoming truly brutal for Wright who was sitting at 10-3 behind after missing double 20 for a 116 checkout and Price pounced to head only a few legs from the title.

Wright stopped the rot but Price coasted further towards the title at 11-4 up at the next break. He offered some resistance pegging him back to 12-6 but at the interval, Price led 14-6 and was on the verge of the title.

He picked out double 10 on return to go within one of the victory. From there, he missed double five for the match and Wright hit 86 to stay alive at 15-7.

But Price got it done in the requisite leg with a 180 to leave 70 which he chased round the board to leave double five which he missed once more. Price as a result smashed in a 155 to break and make it 15-8.

But Wright's revival didn't last long as after he missed 56 for another leg, Price had hit a 180 to pressure and hit double 12 for the title.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments