Record seventh Premier League Darts title for Michael van Gerwen, eases past Price at the O2

Another edition of the Premier League Darts is over and once again, it is Michael van Gerwen who picks up the trophy when it matters most on Finals Night at the O2.

It is a record breaking seventh triumph for The Green Machine surpassing Phil Taylor's previous record as he thumped league winner, Gerwyn Price 11-5 who failed to produce his best and at times was played off the board by the Dutchman.

Starting the night with doubts about his shoulder, he has firmly put those to bed with talk turning to MVG being back again with a 105.4 average and three massive ton plus checkouts in the final.

Van Gerwen started the better of the two hitting double 10 for the opening leg. He missed double 11 for a 124 and Price levelled up at 1-1.

Price set up double 20 from 170 and pinned it for 2-2. MVG continued to hold and hit double five for 3-2. A first max for Price was cancelled out with a 170 from MVG to make it 4-2 and break throw.

He went three up at 5-2. Price missed bull for 167 and MVG returned for a 128 on double 10 for another break at 6-2.

MVG missed 153 for a 7-2 lead but returned for it. Price stopped the rot with a 161 on the bull at the break going 7-3 down.

MVG missed 120 to hold but Price summed up his game with a mess off 65. MVG though missed darts again to hold and Price made it 7-4.

Price missed 144 to hold and Van Gerwen returned to break back and make it 8-4. MVG hit 170 but left himself on 15. Only to return anyway with Price missing double 12 again. MVG made it 9-4 as a result.

Price hit double 10 to make it 9-5. A sensational 150 checkout saw MVG go one away at 10-5.

Price missed two darts to stay in it and his race was run as MVG sealed it.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments