Van Gerwen edges past De Zwaan, Van Duijvenbode smashes Woodhouse

The Quarter-Final line-up is confirmed at the Players Championship Finals with a Double Dutch end to proceedings with Michael van Gerwen and Dirk van Duijvenbode through.

Van Gerwen marched past his compatriot Jeffrey de Zwaan in a 10-7 win which saw a match that went back and forth at times.

MVG surged into a 6-3 lead after De Zwaan had made it 4-3 with a 142 checkout. But the former was well on his way at 7-3 as he headed into the interval.

The procession continued when the interval finished as he made it 8-3. But De Zwaan broke to make it 8-5 after an off leg from Van Gerwen.

He applied further pressure at 8-6 but Van Gerwen restored normal service making it 9-6 from there but he missed a match dart with De Zwaan saving his skin. He didn't miss next time round and despite not being pleased with his display, Mighty Mike is through.

As is Van Duijvenbode who continues his brilliant year into the Quarter-Finals with a 10-1 victory over Luke Woodhouse averaging 99.1, will it be another landmark weekend for the Aubergenius?

Schedule 2020 Players Championship Finals

Saturday November 28

Third Round

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

Main Stage

Michael Smith (102.11) 10-7 (103.57) Jose de Sousa

Gerwyn Price (98.38) 10-6 (91.62) Luke Humphries

Peter Wright (94.55) 10-9 (87.44) Callan Rydz

Michael Van Gerwen (97.4) 10-7 (91.79) Jeffrey de Zwaan

Stage Two

Ian White (99.37) 8-10 (98.53) Joe Cullen

Ross Smith (92.49) 7-10 (96.75) Damon Heta

Karel Sedlacek (92.7) 5-10 (94.37) Mervyn King

Dirk van Duijvenbode (99.55) 10-1 (85.98) Luke Woodhouse

Place comments