Wright and Clayton among leading winners in 2021 PDC Awards

Peter Wright has been voted PDC Player of the Year for the 2021 season after claiming the World Darts Championship, World Matchplay, World Cup of Darts and Players Championship Finals over the past year.

However, players and fans thought differently with Jonny Clayton after his breakout season winning the Premier League, The Masters, World Grand Prix and World Series of Darts Finals scooping the Fans and Players' Player of the Year.

For the latter he saw off Wright who came second and joint third went to Gerwyn Price and Callan Rydz.

He was also on the opposing end of the best TV performance of the year with Michael Smith claiming that award for his spectacular win over 'The Ferret' in the fourth round of the World Darts Championship.

After winning two European Tour events and two ProTour titles, Gerwyn Price took the ProTour Player of the Year mantle seeing off Jose de Sousa, Smith and Wright

Alan Soutar who climbed to 51st in his debut season after a run to the Last 16 of the PDC World Darts Championship was voted Newcomer of the Year. He was up against the likes of Florian Hempel and Keane Barry for the award.

While Rusty-Jake Rodriguez who dominated the European Development Tour and produced incredible displays at the World Darts Championship and Grand Slam of Darts claims Young Player of the Year.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments