The schedule of play has been released for the opening day at the Grand Slam of Darts which sees the PDC and BDO’s best facing off in a week of action at Aldersley Leisure Village in Wolverhampton.

Saturday’s afternoon session will see the players in Group E-H face off who will also compete on Sunday afternoon and Monday evening, with groups A-D in action on Saturday evening, Sunday evening and Tuesday evening.

The group stage forms all part of a round-robin format which will see the players compete with two players out of each group making it through to the Last 16.

The opening session sees Rob Cross against Lisa Ashton in a battle of former World Champions and a chance to see ‘The Lancashire Rose’ in action against one of the World’s best in an intriguing battle. Local star Jamie Hughes from down the round in Tipton will also be in a quality tie against Dave Chisnall.

Peter Wright will aim to get his form back on track in the Group F games as he faces BDO’s Wayne Warren. Danny Noppert, fresh from his run to the final in Amsterdam will take on Ryan Harrington. While in Group G, Daryl Gurney will face Richard Veenstra and Brendan Dolan will face Gabriel Clemens; in a battle of two of the most consistent performers on the ProTour.

Then Group H will be involved with Nathan Aspinall and Martin Schindler opening the tournament and Michael Smith against Glen Durrant closing the afternoon action.

In the evening, reigning champion Gerwyn Price will face Mikuru Suzuki, the reigning Lakeside Ladies World Champion; while Dimitri van den Bergh will take on Robert Thornton in the other Group C tie.

Michael van Gerwen, three-time champion in the event will be after regaining his title and he will take on a player who could give him a serious challenge, Jim Williams. Adrian Lewis will also take on Ross Smith from that group.

Group B will see James Wade face Wesley Harms and Ian White against Steve Lennon. Whilst in Group D, Gary Anderson will aim to go one better than last year when he faces debutant Dave Parletti from the BDO and Darren Webster will face William O’Connor.

Schedule Grand Slam of Darts 2019

Saturday November 9
Afternoon Session (1300 GMT)
Groups E-H First Matches

Nathan Aspinall v Martin Schindler (H)
Danny Noppert v Ryan Harrington (F)
Brendan Dolan v Gabriel Clemens (G)
Dave Chisnall v Jamie Hughes (E)
Daryl Gurney v Richard Veenstra (G)
Peter Wright v Wayne Warren (F)
Rob Cross v Lisa Ashton (E)
Michael Smith v Glen Durrant (H)

Evening Session (2000 GMT)
Groups A-D First Matches

Darren Webster v William O’Connor (D)
Gerwyn Price v Mikuru Suzuki (C)
Ian White v Steve Lennon (B)
Gary Anderson v Dave Parletti (D)
James Wade v Wesley Harms (B)
Michael van Gerwen v Jim Williams (A)
Adrian Lewis v Ross Smith (A)
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Robert Thornton (C)

Sunday November 10
Afternoon Session (1300 GMT)

Groups E-H Second Matches. Saturday’s winners face each other, and Saturday’s losers face each other.

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

Groups A-D Second Matches. Saturday’s winners face each other, and Saturday’s losers face each other.

Monday November 11 (1900 GMT)

Groups E-H Final Matches

Tuesday November 12 (1900 GMT)

Groups A-D Final Matches

Wednesday November 13 (1900 GMT)

Second Round x4

Thursday November 14 (1900 GMT)

Second Round x4

Friday November 15 (1900 GMT)

Quarter-Finals x2

Saturday November 16 (2000 GMT)

Quarter-Finals x2

Sunday November 17
Afternoon Session (1300 GMT)


Evening Session (1900 GMT)


Author: Samuel Gill