Michael van Gerwen has once again won the Players Championship Finals defeating Gerwyn Price, in a final that once again delivered in Minehead in what is the last action before the PDC World Championship.

Van Gerwen has won this event for the fifth time against his new rival in a match truly befitting of the top two players of the world; it was MVG who claimed revenge after losing out at the Grand Slam last week and he will likely take that confidence through to the Alexandra Palace.

To start off the contest, there was a bit of needle; but after Van Gerwen missed two at doubles, Price took out 64 to close the gap at the interval.

Van Gerwen went 4-2 up but Price ended up roaring back with a 104 checkout to peg it back to 4-3 behind; with a 104 checkout.

MVG though established a two-leg lead again at 5-3; it became a very topsy turvy game with neither player really catching light but at the second interval, it was 6-4 to Van Gerwen.

Price came back though and after Van Gerwen missed multiple doubles in two requisite legs; making it 20 overall, he came back in to break throw and square it up at 6-6.

Price made it three legs on the spin as he led for the first time at 7-6 up and he led at the next break at 8-7 up as he went three legs away from the title.

This is when Van Gerwen started to come into his own though, A break of throw saw him regain the lead at 9-8 up when they returned and it seemed the writing was on the wall as he went on the brink at 10-8 up.

Price held his throw though and nearly sent it all the way missing multiple darts to do so but Van Gerwen finally sealed the deal from there.

Click here for more information on the last TV tournament before the World Championship.

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

Gerwyn Price (100.24) 11-8 (95.12) Chris Dobey
Michael van Gerwen (103.61) 11-8 (102.38) Ian White
Best of 21 legs

Gerwyn Price (96.48) 9-11 (97.92) Michael van Gerwen
Best of 21 legs

PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Final
Adam Gawlas (78.42) 0-6 (92.97) Luke Humphries
Best of 11 legs

Tags: ,

Author: Samuel Gill