Michael van Gerwen has entered the history books as the longest consecutive world number one ever in the PDC.

The Dutchman has taken over the record from Phil Taylor. Van Gerwen has been number one on the PDC Order of Merit for more than 69 consecutive months in a row. Mighty Mike took over this position from The Power after winning the world title on the first day of 2014.

Taylor led the world ranking for 67 consecutive months from June 2008 till January 2014. The 16-time world champion took over this honorable title from Raymond van Barneveld. Barney held the number one position at the start of 2008 for a few months.

Although Van Gerwen is the longest world number one in terms of a consecutive period, Taylor remains ahead of him in terms of being world number one in total months. The Stoke-on-Trent ace also led the world ranking in the periods August 1996 until September 1996, August 2000 until September 2000, January 2002 until February 2002, May 2002 until January 2003, July 2003 until February 2005, March 2006 until May 2006 and January 2007 until January 2008.

It’s a certainty that Van Gerwen will extend his streak in the coming months. The 30-year-old has a lead of £640,000 on current world number two Rob Cross, who will soon have to defend his 2018 world title. The PDC Order of Merit is compiled on the basis of prize money won in a 24-month period.

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC


Author: Pieter Verbeek