Ian White has claimed back-to-back European Tour titles with victory over Michael van Gerwen in the final at the Dutch Darts Masters.

White as a result has ended two of Van Gerwen’s streak in his last leg decider one which has taken about four years to break and similarly his five year winning run at this tournament.

‘Diamond’ has really come into his own this year on the European Tour and adds a third title to his collection and a second of the year.

He began the final superbly going 3-1 up and missing darts to make it 4-0; but the problems then arose for the Stoke ace who had MVG constantly pegging him back from there on out.

Despite that he kept his cool and was never behind against the World Number One with Mighty Mike chucking in a showpiece 170 to go one behind.

He broke the throw himself though from there taking out 72 to go 6-4 up and two away from the win. He missed darts though to go within one of the title and was broken himself before MVG levelled proceedings up.

It looked like it was all going Van Gerwen’s way but White found a crucial double two to go within a leg of the title. Following that though was the dreaded last leg decider but the new champion held his nerve in the end and silenced a barrier of whistling and noise from the Zwolle crowd who obviously wanted Van Gerwen to win and pinned double 10 with his final dart to be victorious.

Click here for more information about the PDC European Tour, including the format, calendar and the prize fund breakdown.

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 BST)

Michael van Gerwen (98.64) 6-4 (99.09) Dave Chisnall
Glen Durrant (97.93) 3-6 (104.55) Gerwyn Price
Ian White (99.91) 6-3 (95.06) Vincent van der Voort
Peter Wright (96.91) 6-4 (89.84) Mervyn King


Michael van Gerwen (104.23) 7-6 (98.38) Gerwyn Price
Ian White (87) 7-3 (86.89) Peter Wright


Michael van Gerwen (96.95) 7-8 (93.5) Ian White

Tags: ,

Author: Samuel Gill