The World Cup of Darts is back to bring some international flair to the PDC.

64 players, representing 32 nations, will meet at the Barclaycard Arena in Hamburg. They’ll be contesting the PDC World Cup of Darts, the only doubles tournament in the calendar. The Netherlands are the defending champions, but have a new partnership as Jermaine Wattimena joins Michael van Gerwen. Top seeds England also have a new pair; it’s Michael Smith who joins Rob Cross.
All the useful World Cup information can be found below, in the Match Centre.


(1) England v Philippines
Republic of Ireland v Greece
(8) Austria v Russia
China v USA
(5) Australia v Finland
Italy v Canada
(4) Netherlands v Spain
Poland v Czech Republic
(2) Scotland v Denmark
Brazil v Sweden
(7) Belgium v Hong Kong
Hungary v Germany
(6) Northern Ireland v South Africa
New Zealand v Lithuania
(3) Wales v Singapore
Gibraltar v Japan


Thursday June 6 (1900 local time)
Gibraltar v Japan
Northern Ireland v South Africa
New Zealand v Lithuania
Belgium v Hong Kong
Brazil v Sweden
Wales v Singapore
Hungary v Germany
Scotland v Denmark
Friday June 7 (1900 local time)
China v USA
Italy v Canada
Poland v Czech Republic
Republic of Ireland v Greece
England v Philippines
Austria v Russia
Australia v Finland
Netherlands v Spain
Saturday June 8
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Second Round x4
Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Second Round x4
Sunday June 9
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

TV Coverage

Sky Sports have the rights to World Cup of Darts coverage. The action will be live on Sky Sports Action (that’s Channel 407, if you’ve got Sky).
You can follow all the live updates from each World Cup match here on

Prize Fund

£70,000 is on offer to the winning team (£35,000 each, assuming it’s split down the middle). The total prize pot is £350,000, the biggest it has ever been.

Winners £70,000
Runners-Up £40,000
Semi-finalists £24,000
Quarter-finalists £16,000
Last 16  (Second round) £8,000
Last 32  (First round) £4,000


The World Cup’s unique format includes doubles play, including an all-doubles opening round.
In the first round, the sixteen ties are played as a one-off best of nine legs tie between the pairs. The second round introduces singles play – the team captains select their running order, then two best of seven legs matches are played in the order determined by the blind selection. Matches are best of three, so if the same team wins both singles ties, the match is over. Should the scores be level, a best of seven legs doubles match decides the winner.
The quarter-finals and semi-finals are played in the same manner. There’s a switch in format for the final – it becomes the best of five, with four singles games sandwiched by a doubles tie.


All eight editions of the World Cup of Darts have been won by the same two nations – England and the Netherlands.
2010 – Netherlands beat Wales 4-2
2012 – England beat Australia 4-3
2013 – England beat Belgium 3-1
2014 – Netherlands beat England 3-0
2015 – England beat Scotland 3-2
2016 – England beat Netherlands 3-2
2017 – Netherlands beat Wales 3-1
2018 – Netherlands beat Scotland 3-1
COLUMN: The World Cup of Darts is the best tournament in the PDC calendar

Kelly Deckers/PDC

Photo: Kelly Deckers/PDC

Author: Ed McCosh