With the conclusion of various qualifiers, the field for the Melbourne Darts Masters has been confirmed with the event set to be the fourth on the World Series calendar and the second on the Oceanic leg.

Peter Wright is the current champion in the event having defeated Michael Smith in last year’s tournament in a 11-8 win. He will be back to defend his title alongside the other PDC representatives including the likes of Michael van Gerwen, Rob Cross; as well as on his farewell tour, Raymond van Barneveld.

As usual with these events in Australia, Corey Cadby and Kyle Anderson have both been given wildcards into the tournament. There was also spots through various qualifiers and Order of Merits.

James Bailey and Brisbane Masters champion Damon Heta will be involved in Melbourne due to their status as DPA number one and number two. Coming through the qualifiers were Robbie King, Tim Pusey who impressed in spells last year, Mick Lacey; as well as Haupai Puha who is involved in every event in Australia and New Zealand.

The event is set to take place on August 16-17 at The Melbourne Arena; with one more event after this one set to take place in Hamilton in New Zealand.

Invited PDC Representatives
Michael van Gerwen
Rob Cross
Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright
James Wade
Simon Whitlock
Raymond van Barneveld

Regional Qualifiers
Wildcard – Kyle Anderson
Wildcard – Corey Cadby
DPA Number One – Damon Heta
DPA Number Two – James Bailey
DPA Qualifier One – Robbie King
DPA Qualifier Two – Tim Pusey
DPA Qualifier Three – Mick Lacey
DPNZ Qualifier – Haupai Puha

Richard Walker/PDC

Photo: Richard Walker/PDC


Author: Samuel Gill