Field and seeds confirmed for 2021 World Matchplay

After the conclusion of the race to the World Matchplay during PDC Super Series 5, the field and seeds have been confirmed for the return to the Winter Gardens between 17-25 July in Blackpool.

Gerwyn Price will head up the field as top seed alongside Peter Wright with Michael van Gerwen third and outside of the top two for the first time since 2012.

James Wade will be in the top four seeds for the first time since 2013, while Jose de Sousa will be seeded for the first time.

Rob Cross (#5), Gary Anderson (#6), Michael Smith (#7), defending champion Dimitri van den Bergh (#8), Dave Chisnall (#9) and De Sousa round out the top ten.

Jonny Clayton as per his TV wins being non ranked is only just inside the top 16 in the seedings and will therefore play one of the main seeds potentially early on.

Going into the final day in Coventry, only five spots were left on the ProTour Order of Merit but in the end early on, Vincent van der Voort, Ian White and Ryan Searle were assured of their spots after Callan Rydz' defeat to Jason Lowe.

Lowe was the only one in the end who could potentially spoil the party with Chris Dobey's remaining spot the only one undecided until James Wade defeated Lowe 6-5 in the Last 32 which meant the field was complete.

There will be seven debutants in Blackpool this year in Devon Petersen, Damon Heta, Dirk van Duijvenbode, Ross Smith, Luke Humphries, Ryan Searle and Callan Rydz with Brendan Dolan leading the way in terms of the ProTour players.

Adrian Lewis will miss out on a 17th consecutive World Matchplay, Steve Beaton's streak of 20 straight appearances is also over, while Raymond van Barneveld couldn't qualify on his return year.

PDC Order of Merit qualifiers (top 16 seeds)

1. Gerwyn Price

2. Peter Wright

3. Michael van Gerwen

4. James Wade

5. Rob Cross

6. Gary Anderson

7. Michael Smith

8. Dimitri van den Bergh

9. Dave Chisnall

10. José de Sousa

11. Nathan Aspinall

12. Glen Durrant

13. Krzysztof Ratajski

14. Daryl Gurney

15. Joe Cullen

16. Jonny Clayton

Pro Tour qualifiers

Brendan Dolan

Devon Petersen

Damon Heta

Danny Noppert

Dirk van Duijvenbode

Ross Smith

Mensur Suljovic

Stephen Bunting

Mervyn King

Luke Humphries

Gabriel Clemens

Vincent van der Voort

Ryan Searle

Ian White

Callan Rydz

Chris Dobey

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments