These five PDC records are likely to be unbreakable

Christopher Kempf - also known as Ochepedia - has compiled a list for the PDC of top five records which are seen as unbreakable.

Unsurprisingly for the most part as well, these records are held by Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor - cementing their status even further as two of the best of all time.

1. Michael van Gerwen - 28 consecutive victories in last leg deciders in European Tour competitions (2014-2019)

The European Tour is always a source of darting anomalies with the famous curse of Ross Smith in place for the lack of nine-darters with 2013-2018 seeing a lack of perfect legs.

But Michael van Gerwen held a similarly impressive record which is less likely to be beaten in the form of a 28 match winning streak in last leg deciders.

He lost to Michael Smith 6-5 before going on a run from 2014-2019 without losing when the match went the distance. This in itself saw him account for 29 titles and nearly £1m prize money. No-one has even got close since and it showed the strength of Mighty Mike throughout that period.

2. Phil Taylor - 107.60 average in the Premier League group phase (2012)

Michael van Gerwen barring the past two years has been supreme in the Premier League but before that, Phil Taylor was the flagbearer.

Taylor couldn't be beaten for many years and in 2012, his brilliance was firmly on display. He lost 1 match out of 14, he won matches by a margin on average of 3.7 legs and averaged 110+ five times. This saw him produce a staggering 107.60.

Only MVG has since come close with 106.94 at the height of his powers in 2016 but this record is likely now unbreakable.

3. Michael van Gerwen - 19 perfect consecutive darts (2012, 2016)

A record set by The Green Machine in 2016 where he went staggeringly close to two consecutive nine-darters and tied in 2016 which can be broken.

But it hasn't nearly a decade on with no proof of any player since throwing more than 16 perfect darts.

4. Phil Taylor - 60 consecutive matches without a loss (2008)

Back to Taylor and going towards the end of the top five is a remarkable stat when he went 60 matches without defeat.

After losing on the ProTour to Colin Osborne in June 2008, he won every match for nearly the next four months winning the World Matchplay, the Las Vegas Desert Classic, the South African Masters and five floor titles.

Van Gerwen is the only player with 30+ wins and with the standard only increasing further, it will likely never be beaten.

5. Michael van Gerwen - 114.05 average over 32 legs (2017)

As won't Van Gerwen's 114.05 average over 32 legs against Raymond van Barneveld at the 2017 World Championship.

To even come close to this feat, a player would have to play at least four consecutive sessions of six legs averaging around 110.

A stunning game and an even more staggering average for Mighty Mike.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments