Schedule for 2020 World Cup of Darts confirmed: Top seeds England set to headline opening session against Philippines

The World Cup of Darts is set to take place this weekend between Friday November 6 and Sunday November 8 at the Salzburgarena in Austria.

Due to a change of regulations, the World Cup will now be held behind closed doors which has meant that Singapore have had to withdraw due to the restrictions affecting Harith Lim's ability to return. This has meant a debut for Portugal headed up by Jose de Sousa.

Beginning proceedings will be a double session starting Friday afternoon with four-time winners England (Michael Smith & Rob Cross) facing Philippines duo Lourence Ilagan and Noel Malicdem headlining.

Beginning proceedings is Lithuanian duo Darius Labanauskas and Mindaugas Barauskas facing Gibraltarian debutants Justin Hewitt and Craig Galliano.

Also in action during the afternoon session include former finalists Belgium (Kim Huybrechts and Dimitri van den Bergh) as well as host nation Austria (Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez).

Scotland's title defence will commence in the evening as the new look duo of John Henderson and Robert Thornton replace Peter Wright and Gary Anderson. They will face the dangerous Japanese pairing of Seigo Asada and Yuki Yamada.

Four-time champions Netherlands are also in action with Michael van Gerwen and Danny Noppert, with the latter making his debut. Also in action is a top tie between former finalists Republic of Ireland (Steve Lennon and William O'Connor) and Australia who this year will have Damon Heta pairing Simon Whitlock.

2020 World Cup of Darts - Schedule of Play

Friday November 6 - Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

8x First Round

Lithuania v Gibraltar

Portugal v Hungary

New Zealand v Denmark

Northern Ireland v Canada

Belgium v Czech Republic

Austria v USA

England v Philippines

Italy v Spain

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT) - 8x First Round

Sweden v Greece

Japan v Scotland

Poland v South Africa

Republic of Ireland v Australia

Wales v Russia

Germany v Finland

Netherlands v Brazil

Hong Kong v Latvia

Saturday November 7

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

4x Second Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT)

4x Second Round

Sunday November 8

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)


Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT)

Semi-Finals & Final

Read more about:
PDC World Cup of Darts schedule

Place comments