Schedule released for 2021 World Matchplay: Defending champion Van den Bergh, Price and Clayton set for opening night

The schedule has been released ahead of the 2021 World Matchplay which is set to return home to its spiritual venue of the Winter Gardens in Blackpool.

A venue that has not seen Dimitri van den Bergh adorn its stage with the defending champion set to headline the opening night which will include minimal fans before wide scale restrictions are lifted in time for Monday July 19 in the UK.

He will face Devon Petersen in a battle of the walk-ons and on the oche too in a night that will also include World Number One, Gerwyn Price returning in front of fans for the first time after his Premier League withdrawal. He faces late replacement Jermaine Wattimena.

As well as Dave Chisnall and Vincent van der Voort who will open proceedings up followed by a tantialising tungsten tussle between Premier League champion Jonny Clayton and World Grand Prix finalist and debutant, Dirk van Duijvenbode.

Sunday's double session sees James Wade and Rob Cross, two former champions in action against Luke Humphries in Ross Smith as well as Glen Durrant v Callan Rydz and the in-form History Maker, Brendan Dolan taking on Krzysztof Ratajski.

As well as in the evening, Peter Wright and Jose de Sousa, two of the favourites for the title facing Danny Noppert and Gabriel Clemens.

The first round is set to conclude on Monday in front of a capacity crowd, with Michael van Gerwen and Gary Anderson in action against debutant Damon Heta and recent ProTour winner and in-form Stephen Bunting.

The second round is set for Tuesday July 20 and Wednesday July 21, before the quarter-finals are staged across Thursday July 22 and Friday July 23.

While Saturday July 24 is where the semi-finals will take place, before the final is held on Sunday July 25 with the Phil Taylor Trophy on the line.

2021 World Matchplay

Schedule of Play

Saturday July 17 (1900 BST)

4x First Round

Dave Chisnall v Vincent van der Voort

Jonny Clayton v Dirk van Duijvenbode

Gerwyn Price v Jermaine Wattimena

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Devon Petersen

Sunday July 18

Afternoon Session (1300 BST)

4x First Round

Krzysztof Ratajski v Brendan Dolan

Glen Durrant v Callan Rydz

Rob Cross v Ross Smith

James Wade v Luke Humphries

Evening Session (1930 BST)

4x First Round

Joe Cullen v Chris Dobey

Michael Smith v Ryan Searle

Peter Wright v Danny Noppert

Jose de Sousa v Gabriel Clemens

Monday July 19 (1900 BST)

4x First Round

Daryl Gurney v Ian White

Nathan Aspinall v Mervyn King

Michael van Gerwen v Damon Heta

Gary Anderson v Stephen Bunting

Tuesday July 20 (1900 BST)

4x Second Round

Cross/R Smith v Durrant/Rydz

Wade/Humphries v Ratajski/Dolan

Price/Wattimena v Clayton/Van Duijvenbode

Van den Bergh/Petersen v Chisnall/Van der Voort

Wednesday July 21 (1900 BST)

4x Second Round

M Smith/Searle v De Sousa/Clemens

Anderson/Bunting v Aspinall/King

Van Gerwen/Heta v Gurney/White

Wright/Noppert v Cullen/Dobey

Thursday July 22 (1900 BST)

2x Quarter-Finals

Friday July 23 (1900 BST)

2x Quarter-Finals

Saturday July 24 (1900 BST)


Sunday July 25 (2030 BST)


Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments