Smith defies 108 average to defeat Krcmar, Cross safely through with victory over Lowe

Michael Smith and Rob Cross are through on the opening day of the Players Championship Finals while there have been some shocks over on Stage Two.

Smith was facing a familiar foe in Boris Krcmar who has beaten him a few times this year but was making his debut in the tournament.

In the end, 'Bully Boy' came through with a thrilling 6-5 victory over 'The Biggest' but defied a 108 average in the process to come through.

Krcmar moved 2-0 up in the opening stage but Smith returned with a 142 checkout on his way to levelling it up at 2-2.

The multiple Soft Tip World Champion headed into the interval with a 127 checkout to move 3-2 up but a brilliant and pivotal clutch 145 saw Smith move 4-3 up.

It was level from there on out but in the decider with Krcmar unable to muster a shot at a 116 checkout, Smith hit double 10 for the win.

While his World Cup partner proved too strong for Jason Lowe with Rob Cross coming through safely in a 6-3 win with a 98.3 average and 6/7 on the doubles en route.

Like alluded to though, the shocks came on the outer stages with Ryan Murray edging past Stephen Bunting in a 6-4 win with back-to-back checkouts of 138 and 121.

While 'Evil Charlie' Karel Sedlacek punished 14 missed darts at double from Krzysztof Ratajski to book his place in Round Two 6-4.

Players Championship Finals 2020 schedule

Friday, November 27
First round
Afternoon session (from 13:45)
Main stage

Dirk van Duijvenbode (101.16) 6-4 (102.85) William O'Connor

Michael Smith (100.18) 6-5 (107.79) Boris Krcmar

Rob Cross (98.34) 6-3 (94.15) Jason Lowe

Joe Cullen v Adam Hunt

Devon Petersen v Luke Humphries

Ryan Searle v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Adrian Lewis v Simon Whitlock

Stage 2

Brendan Dolan (97.71) 4-6 (99.04) Luke Woodhouse

Ryan Joyce (93.19) 4-6 (94.57) Andy Boulton

Stephen Bunting (89.63) 4-6 (90.04) Ryan Murray

Krzysztof Ratajski (93.63) 4-6 (86.36) Karel Sedlacek

Gabriel Clemens v Martijn Kleermaker

Ian White v William Borland

Jonny Clayton v Mickey Mansell

Daryl Gurney v Callan Rydz

Dave Chisnall v Mervyn King

Place comments