Van Duijvenbode and Woodhouse produce highest TV averages to reach Round Two at Players Championship Finals

The action has began at the Players Championship Finals and has done so with a bang with Dirk van Duijvenbode and Luke Woodhouse producing their highest TV averages.

Van Duijvenbode faced off against William O'Connor in a high quality opener. He started with with three 180's in the first two legs with gave him a 2-0 lead with a 13-darter and an 11-darter.

O'Connor broke back in the fourth leg with a 105 checkout but the Dutchman went into the break with the lead.

After the interval, it became 4-2 but O'Connor made it parity at 4-4. But he was broken again by 'The Titan' who then finished with a 41 checkout to win. He will play in the second round on Saturday against the victor of James Wade and Niels Zonneveld.

While Luke Woodhouse averaged 99 and won through against Brendan Dolan. Andy Boulton also showed his form by seeing off Ryan Joyce in a 6-4 win with two ton plus averages along the way as Stage Two action continues.

Players Championship Finals 2020 schedule

Friday, November 27
First round
Afternoon session (from 13:45)
Main stage

Dirk van Duijvenbode (101.16) 6-4 (102.85) William O'Connor

Michael Smith v Boris Krcmar

Rob Cross v Jason Lowe

Joe Cullen v Adam Hunt

Devon Petersen v Luke Humphries

Ryan Searle v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Adrian Lewis v Simon Whitlock

Stage 2

Brendan Dolan (97.71) 4-6 (99.04) Luke Woodhouse

Ryan Joyce (93.19) 4-6 (94.57) Andy Boulton

Stephen Bunting v Ryan Murray

Krzysztof Ratajski v Karel Sedlacek

Gabriel Clemens v Martijn Kleermaker

Ian White v William Borland

Jonny Clayton v Mickey Mansell

Daryl Gurney v Callan Rydz

Dave Chisnall v Mervyn King

Place comments