Van Gerwen produces strong display to defeat Labanauskas, Price eases past Huybrechts

Michael van Gerwen is successfully past his opening test at the European Championship in defeating Darius Labanauskas in a 6-1 win.

It was a 103 average for Van Gerwen and his next task will be Ian White in the second round who eased through early on against Mervyn King.

Labanauskas himself didn't play poorly averaging in the early 100+ for most of the tie but his only leg won saw him take out 130 with 'Lucky D' ending up on 1/4 on the doubles compared to 6/12 from Mighty Mike.

After missing a 170 in the first leg, Labanauskas was forced to rue that as Van Gerwen smashed in a 117 checkout. He hit back with the aforementioned 130 but Van Gerwen returned to make it 3-1 from there with a break of throw and Labanauskas was soon on the brink at the break at 4-1 down.

A missed dart at double 20 from 116 saw MVG break and go one away and despite late pressure in the form of a 180, he pinned a 70 checkout to move through.

Also through is Gerwyn Price who will aim to add to his triumphs at the World Grand Prix and World Series of Darts Finals this weekend and he made the best possible start.

He eased past Kim Huybrechts in a 6-1 victory with a 103.7 and 6/7 on the doubles to bounce back after two early defeats on the European Tour following the former two title wins.

A potential tie with Peter Wright awaits for 'The Iceman' with 'Snakebite' set to take on Gabriel Clemens shortly.

European Championship 2020 schedule

First round
Thursday October 29

Jamie Hughes (94.22) 6-5 (92.66) Dave Chisnall

Krzysztof Ratajski (99.76) 5-6 (95.19) Steve West

Mervyn King (86.66) 2-6 (91.83) Ian White

Jose de Sousa (96.56) 6-3 (87.65) Jeffrey de Zwaan

James Wade (92.42) 6-5 (93.02) Steve Lennon

Devon Petersen (95.29) 6-1 (87.69) Andy Hamilton

Michael Smith (89.29) 6-5 (91.34) Ross Smith

Danny Noppert (92.93) 0-6 (98.47) Dirk van Duijvenbode

Nathan Aspinall (86.68) 6-3 (82.21) Maik Kuivenhoven

Joe Cullen (86.05) 3-6 (88.17) William O'Connor

Rob Cross (95.18) 3-6 (91.15) Martijn Kleermaker

Jonny Clayton (98.88) 6-5 (97.59) Max Hopp

Michael van Gerwen (103.13) 6-1 (100.06) Darius Labanauskas

Gerwyn Price (103.68) 6-1 (87) Kim Huybrechts

Peter Wright v Gabriel Clemens

Mensur Suljovic v Daryl Gurney

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments