The NZ Darts Masters has been announced for 2020 and will take place on August 21-22 at Hamilton’s Claudelands Arena again.

Michael van Gerwen claimed victory in an 8-1 win over Raymond van Barneveld and he will return next year to try and defend his title in New Zealand.

Gary Anderson, Rob Cross and Peter Wright also competed earlier this year in Hamilton and will likely be in line for 2020.

There will be eight PDC stars who travel to New Zealand and among them will likely be Gerwyn Price who won the Grand Slam of Darts last weekend and is up to third on the PDC Order of Merit.

Eight Oceanic representatives will also compete in the event over the two-day event; which could include Haupai Puha and Ben Robb.

“It’s fantastic for us to be able to return to Hamilton for the NZ Darts Masters in 2020, following what was a really successful debut at the Claudelands Arena in August,” said PDC chief executive Matthew Porter following the announcement.

“The World Series of Darts continues to go from strength to strength and the NZ Darts Masters will be our last of six worldwide events in 2020 as our top stars compete globally against the best local talent.

“It’s been great to see the progression of darts in New Zealand in recent years as more players make their mark at the top level, and this will be another great opportunity for them to play against the sport’s top names in front of their home fans.”


Author: Samuel Gill