Biggest climbers in PDC Order of Merit after 2020 season |

Biggest climbers in PDC Order of Merit after 2020 season

The PDC Order of Merit saw a lot of changes during a strange 2020 season and this article focuses on who benefitted from that the most.

A newcomer in the top 10 of the Order of Merit was Dimitri van den Bergh. The Belgian won his first major title during the World Matchplay in July.

He started the year as 29th in the world but now he sits in 10th ahead of his first appearance in the Premier League.

Glen Durrant played his second year on the PDC Tour in 2020 and therefore had no prize money to defend. This took him from 22nd to 13th place but this year will be pivotal for the three time Lakeside champion who will begin to defend.

Jose de Sousa won his first major similarly like Van den Bergh and in winning the Grand Slam of Darts went up to 15th from 61st in a year which also featured a maiden win on the European Tour.

Devon Petersen also made tremendous progress with the African Warrior also claiming his first Euro Tour, he also reached the semi-finals at the European Championship and is now into the top 32 after starting the year in 59th.

Three players managed to win a Tour Card at the Q-School in 2021 and have already secured a place in the top 64 of the PDC Order of Merit in their first Tour Card year.

Dirk van Duijvenbode had a dream year with a final at the World Grand Prix and quarter-finals at the European Championship, Players Championship Finals and the World Championship. He started 2020 from scratch, but has since worked his way up to 32nd place. Moreover, Van Duijvenbode has nothing to defend now meaning that this year could be a good one for the Aubergenius.

Damon Heta and Jason Lowe similarly made strides. Heta rose to 52nd place in one year and Lowe to 63rd place.

Biggest climbers after 2020 season 

Dimitri van den Bergh 29 -> 10

Glen Durrant 22 -> 13

Jose de Sousa 61 -> 15

Jamie Hughes 47 -> 27

Gabriel Clemens 39 -> 29

Devon Petersen 59 -> 31

Dirk van Duijvenbode (no ranking) -> 32

Ryan Searle 44 -> 37

Ross Smith 48 -> 41

Darius Labanauskas 51 -> 43

Luke Woodhouse 58 -> 48

Damon Heta (no ranking) -> 52

Jason Lowe (no ranking) -> 63

Place comments



More comments Show all comments