Draw revealed for group stage of Grand Slam of Darts 2023: Fallon Sherrock and Michael van Gerwen paired together

The draw for the group stage of the 2023 Grand Slam of Darts has been announced. A standout is the pairing of both Michael van Gerwen and Fallon Sherrock in the same group.

Indeed, Sherrock entered Group G, the pool where Van Gerwen is the highest ranked player. Martijn Kleermaker and Rob Cross are 'Mighty Mike's' other two opponents in the group stage.

Gerwyn Pric will make his return to a tournament he's had much at the Grand Slam of Darts against Gian van Veen, Ryan Searle and Nathan Rafferty. Defending champion Michael Smith will face James Wade, Krzysztof Ratajski and Nathan Girvan. Three-time losing finalist Peter Wright has Dave Chisnall, Stephen Bunting and rookie Stowe Buntz in his group.

Click here to create your own team for the Fantasy Grand Slam of Darts. At least $320/€300/£260 in prizes.

World Grand Prix winner Luke Humphries is paired with two-time world champion Gary Anderson, Dirk van Duijvenbode and Steve Lennon in his group.

Berry van Peer will make his return to the Grand Slam of Darts for the first time since 2017. He will face Jonny Clayton, Chris Dobey and Josh Rock in Group B.

Beau Greaves is the second female competitor at the Grand Slam of Darts besides Sherrock. The 19-year-old Englishwoman will battle Nathan Aspinall, Damon Heta and Ricardo Pietreczko in the group stage.

The seventeenth edition of the Grand Slam of Darts is scheduled from November 11 to 19. This event is the only ranking tournament on the PDC calendar that starts in a group system.

Each group consists of four players, who will compete against each other during the first four days of the tournament. The top two players from each group then advance to the knockout phase.

Last year's edition went down in history as the tournament in which Michael Smith won his first-ever major title. 'Bullyboy' defeated Nathan Aspinall in a one-sided final 11-5.

Group stage Grand Slam of Darts 2023

Group A

(1) Michael Smith

James Wade

Krzysztof Ratajski

Nathan Girvan

Group B

(8) Jonny Clayton

Chris Dobey

Josh Rock

Berry van Peer

Group C

(4) Luke Humphries

Dirk van Duijvenbode

Gary Anderson

Steve Lennon

Group D

(5) Gerwyn Price

Ryan Searle

Gian van Veen

Nathan Rafferty

Group E

(2) Peter Wright

Dave Chisnall

Stephen Bunting

Stowe Buntz

Group F

(7) Danny Noppert

Andrew Gilding

Brendan Dolan

Haruki Muramatsu

Group G

(3) Michael van Gerwen

Rob Cross

Martijn Kleermaker

Fallon Sherrock

Group H

(6) Nathan Aspinall

Damon Heta

Ricardo Pietreczko

Beau Greaves

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments