Qualification Structure confirmed for 2020 Grand Slam of Darts

The qualification structure has been confirmed for this year's Grand Slam of Darts which has been long awaited ahead of November's tournament.

Current field wise, it is headlined by reigning Grand Slam of Darts champion Gerwyn Price and World Champion Peter Wright. World Number One Michael van Gerwen and World Youth Champion Luke Humphries also had secured their spots for a while. They will be joined by newly crowned World Matchplay champion Dimitri van den Bergh.

Nathan Aspinall gets in by virtue of his PDC Home Tour win; while despite not being confirmed at the time. James Wade as the highest non-qualified player from the PDC Summer Series Order of Merit has also claimed his place.

In addition, World Matchplay runner-up Gary Anderson, Masters finalist Michael Smith and World Youth Championship runner-up Adam Gawlas are also set to compete.

Further places in the tournament will be on offer for the finalists of the Premier League, World Series of Darts Finals, World Grand Prix, European Championship and World Cup of Darts; as well as to one player from the Women's Qualifier in October.

Currently on the reserve list, the likes of Ryan Searle, Krzysztof Ratajski, Ian White and Ryan Joyce head it up. While there has been a difference in the BDO aspect and with no events and their future up in the air, only 2020 BDO World Champion Wayne Warren and Women's World Champion, Mikuru Suzuki will claim spots.

Once the initial spots are filled for automatic qualification, eight players will then be on offer through the PDC Tour Card Holder qualifier.

Field Grand Slam of Darts 2020

Peter Wright (World Champion 2019/20)
Gerwyn Price (winner Grand Slam of Darts 2019)
Dimitri van den Bergh (winner World Matchplay 2020)
Luke Humphries (World Youth Champion 2019)
Michael van Gerwen (winner UK Open 2020)
Nathan Aspinall (winner PDC Home Tour 2020)
James Wade (highest-placed player PDC Summer Series Order of Merit)
Gary Anderson (runner-up World Matchplay 2020)
Adam Gawlas (runner-up World Youth Championship 2019)
Michael Smith (runner-up Masters 2020)

Pro Tour Qualifiers (provisionally)

Ryan Searle (Players Championship 3)
Krzysztof Ratajski (Players Championship 4)
Ian White (Players Championship 8)
Ryan Joyce (Players Championship 9)

Qualifiers / ranking winners

Highest-placed player PDC Autumn Series (September 12-16)
Highest-placed player PDC Winter Series (Date TBC)
Winner ladies qualifier (October 16)
Eight winners from PDC Tour Card Qualifier (Date TBC)

BDO Qualifiers

Wayne Warren (BDO World Champion 2020)
Mikuru Suzuki (BDO Ladies World Champion 2020)



Most read

How to watch the 2020 World Series of Darts Finals live

The live darting action continues this weekend with the World Series of Darts Finals taking place at the Salzburgarena in Aus...

Ashton claims massive scalp with opening round win over Smith in early results on Day One of PDC Autumn Series

Already there has been a big result in the PDC Autumn Series with Lisa Ashton sending Michael Smith home early on Day One wit...

PDC Autumn Series Order of Merit after Day Five

The PDC Autumn Series will be played from September 12-16. The results will count towards the PDC Autumn Series Order of Meri...

Timeline: How the BDO slowly bled to death after 47 years

What had been in the air for quite some time after a financial problems, messing around with tournament draws and a bad comme...

Van Gerwen dumped out in second round of PDC Autumn Series Day Two by Heta

Michael van Gerwen is out in the second round of the PDC Autumn Series after Damon Heta claimed a big scalp on Day Two.Van Ge...

Results Day One - PDC Autumn Series: Wright sees off Razma in rout to win title (Live Blog)

The 14th Players Championship event of the season will be played during the first day of the PDC Autumn Series. All results c...

Draw released for World Series of Darts Finals Qualifier: Clayton set to face Ashton, Beaton against Van Duijvenbode

The draw has been released for the World Series of Darts Finals Qualifier which begins six days of action in Niedernhausen wi...

Van Gerwen makes a return to old darts for PDC Autumn Series

Michael van Gerwen has decided to go back to his old darts, which he used before switching to darts manufacturer Winmau.The w...

Lewis decides to "step away" from darts temporarily after PDC Autumn Series withdrawals

Jamie Lewis has decided to step away from darts temporarily after he withdrew from the last few days of the PDC Autumn Series...

Van der Voort complains about dartboard at World Series of Darts Finals: 'I bet to any money in the world something is different'

Vincent van der Voort booked a 6-0 whitewash victory over Joe Cullen to secure a place in the second round at the World Serie...

Read more

Just in

Top ten match averages at the World Series of Darts Finals 2020

The World Series of Darts Finals saw a return to crowds with Gerwyn Price claiming the title but it also produced some excell...

Wattimena leads group seven on PDC Home Tour II after unbeaten start with three victories

Jermaine Wattimena has made an excellent start in the seventh group on the PDC Home Tour II with three victories from as many...

Van den Bergh needs surgery after getting a knee injury at amusement park

Dimitri van den Bergh has been spotted as of late with a knee brace and the reason for this has been revealed.Van den Bergh w...

Cross 'bitterly disappointed' after losing to Price comeback in World Series of Darts Finals

Rob Cross lost out to Gerwyn Price in the final of the World Series of Darts Finals on Sunday night with the latter coming fr...

Schedule Monday Session PDC Home Tour II including Clayton, Bunting and De Zwaan

The action is set to resume on Monday in PDC Home Tour II with Group Seven seeing four days of darts begin and this group inc...

Read more