Van Gerwen now sole record holder, eclipses Taylor with seven Premier League final wins

It's official. Michael van Gerwen is now the most successful player in Premier League Darts history, eclipsing Phil Taylor by taking his record seventh title on Thursday night at the O2 Arena in London.

Despite some concerns around the health of the Dutchman, after a shoulder injury forced him to withdraw from last Thursday's semi-final with Dimitri Van den Bergh, Van Gerwen was at his brilliant best, having too much for both Michael Smith and Gerwyn Price to claim his seventh Premier League Darts Title in some style.

Phil 'the Power' Taylor, for so long to dominant form in the world of darts, was the former record holder with his haul of six Premier League wins. Gary Anderson is the only other player with multiple Premier League titles, claiming victory twice.

Each of James Wade, Glen Durrant, Jonny Clayton and Raymond van Barneveld have a sole title win to their name.

by Kieran Wood 1 Comments

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments