Williams brushes aside Smith, Van den Bergh keeps qualification hopes alive with win over Suzuki

Jim Williams and Dimitri van den Bergh have kept their hopes alive of qualifying for the Last 16 at the Grand Slam of Darts after victories over Ross Smith and Mikuru Suzuki.

Williams was poor against Michael van Gerwen yesterday but he produced some excellence on the doubles including two brilliant ton plus checkouts in the early going and he will wait for the outcome of Michael van Gerwen against Adrian Lewis to plan his route through.

Van den Bergh was defeated by Robert Thornton yesterday but was brilliant against Mikuru Suzuki with 5/9 on the doubles the difference between the pair in what was an entertaining contest.

Williams doubled his lead in the early going with some superb finishing featuring a 118 checkout and a 122 checkout as he went 3-0 up diminishing the woes that blighted his game yesterday against Van Gerwen.

He went one away from there with 4/4 on the doubles with him taking out 62 to extend his lead. Two 180's and double eight in leg five saw Smith get a leg on the board but it was too little too late as 'The Quiff' secured the victory from there to become the first current BDO player to defeat a PDC player in this year's tournament.

Van den Bergh eased through the first few legs against Suzuki breaking the throw and going 3-0 up only for Suzuki to finally get a leg on the board at 3-1 down. 'Miracle' started to find her scoring boots but her doubling just wasn't as good as 'The Dreammaker' as she ended up at 1/3.

This allowed the Belgian to claim a 5-1 victory from there as he kept his hopes alive of moving through to the next round.

Click here to view more information on the Grand Slam of Darts , the only cross-code tournament on the PDC calendar.

Grand Slam of Darts 2019, Day Two

Evening session schedule

Steve Lennon (88.31) 5-4 (82.78) Wesley Harms (B)
Darren Webster (91.61) 5-2 (85.05) Dave Parletti (D)
Ross Smith (85.63) 1-5 (92.35) Jim Williams (A)
Dimitri Van den Bergh (90.8) 5-1 (84.65) Mikuru Suzuki (C)
21:00 Gerwyn Price v Robert Thornton (C)
21:30 James Wade v Ian White (B)
22:00 Gary Anderson v William O’Connor (D)
22:30 Michael van Gerwen v Adrian Lewis (A)



Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments