Jim Williams and Scott Waites both booked their places in the quarter-finals of the BDO World Championship on the fifth evening in Surrey.

Williams whitewashed his below-par compatriot Dean Reynolds to prevail at the Lakeside and make the last eight for the second successive year.
‘The Quiff’ raced out of the gates as he took a 1-0 lead, winning the opening set in just 41 darts and going six darts into the nine-darter in the opening leg of the match.
Former Development Tour winner, Reynolds, took the first leg of the second set, only for England Masters champion, Williams, to reel off three successive legs to double his advantage.
Wales’ Williams won six of the next seven legs to seal his place in the quarter-finals of the World Championship for the second consecutive year. He’ll face either Scott Mitchell or Krzysztof Kciuk in the last eight.

Waites moves into eighth Lakeside quarter-final

Scott Waites clinched his spot in the quarter-finals of the 42nd BDO World Championship as he came from behind to see off Richard Veenstra in Surrey.
Waites opened up a 2-0 lead in the opening set, only for the Netherlands’ Veenstra to turn it around and gain a 1-0 advantage in sets. Former champ, Waites, levelled up proceedings as he denied an 11-darter from his Dutch opponent with a 101 outshot, with his opponent sat on 20 to send the set for the decider.
The 2010 Grand Slam winner denied a 2-0 lead from his Dutch opponent in set three as he reeled off three legs in succession to lead for the first time in match. Waites doubles his lead as he pinned two maximums and eased to a 3-1 lead, to move on the verge of victory.
A 15-darter from Veenstra saw him take the lead in a must-win set for the Dutchman, but Waites once again won three consecutive legs to book his place in the last eight of the World Championship. The Huddersfield-based ace will face Conan Whitehead in the quarter-finals.
Click here for more information about the 2019 BDO Lakeside World Championship.

Afternoon session schedule

Wesley Harms (92.61) 2-4 (93.00) Willem Mandigers
Trina Gulliver MBE (72.51) 2-1 (70.02) Karolina Podgorska (first round)
Michael Unterbuchner (91.53) 4-0 (91.41) Wayne Warren

Evening session schedule

Mark McGeeney (86.73) 0-4 (96.24) Conan Whitehead
Jim Williams (91.83) 4-0 (73.29) Dean Reynolds
Richard Veenstra (88.35) 1-4 (92.82) Scott Waites

Tags: , , ,

Author: Ben