The draw for this years’ World Matchplay has been revealed with defending champion Rob Cross set to face Gabriel Clemens in the first round.

Cross will defend his title at the World Matchplay starting against one of the most consistent players on the PDC ProTour in Gabriel Clemens who could provide a shock. The tournament will take place in a new venue in the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes – which was used for the PDC Summer Series with five Players Championship events being played behind closed doors.

The showpiece event will have the same fate with the PDC trying to get it to be held in its spiritual home of the Winter Gardens in Blackpool but Chief Executive, Matthew Porter described as a ‘bridge too far”.

Among the top ties include World Number One Michael van Gerwen taking on Brendan Dolan and World Champion Peter Wright facing in-form debutant Jose de Sousa.

Last year’s semi-finalist Glen Durrant will take on Jeffrey de Zwaan. A battle of the high scorers will see Dave Chisnall face Vincent van der Voort. Grand Slam of Darts champion Gerwyn Price will look to add the Phil Taylor trophy to his collection when he starts against Danny Noppert.

2018 champion Gary Anderson will face Justin Pipe. From a former champion to a debutant in Ryan Joyce who won a title this past week to get himself in the field will face Simon Whitlock.

The most experienced player in the field is Steve Beaton and he will make his 20th consecutive appearance in the tournament and ‘The Bronzed Adonis’ will take on Adrian Lewis.

Draw 2020 World Matchplay

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Brendan Dolan
(16) Simon Whitlock v Ryan Joyce
(8) Gary Anderson v Justin Pipe
(9) James Wade v Keegan Brown
(5) Michael Smith v Jonny Clayton
(12) Mensur Suljovic v Jamie Hughes
(4) Rob Cross v Gabriel Clemens
(13) Krzysztof Ratajski v Jermaine Wattimena
(2) Peter Wright v Jose de Sousa
(15) Glen Durrant v Jeffrey de Zwaan
(7) Daryl Gurney v Ricky Evans
(10) Dave Chisnall v Vincent van der Voort
(6) Nathan Aspinall v Dimitri van den Bergh
(11) Ian White v Joe Cullen
(3) Gerwyn Price v Danny Noppert
(14) Adrian Lewis v Steve Beaton

Tags: ,

Author: Samuel Gill