Results PDC Summer Series – Day Two, Last 32: Van Gerwen stunned by Kuivenhoven, Price also out after Razma defeat

The big names continue to fall at the PDC Summer Series in Milton Keynes and yesterday's champion is among them with Michael van Gerwen being stunned by Maik Kuivenhoven for the second time this year.

Kuivenhoven faced off against Van Gerwen during Players Championship 8 and claimed a 6-5 win at the time and it was the same scoreline this time around. The former reached multiple Quarter-Finals earlier this year and went 5-2 up on the World Number One with a break to make it 3-1 the catalyst. Despite that though, there was always an air of inevitability about yesterday's winner coming back.

As Kuivenhoven began to falter, Van Gerwen got better but despite missing four match darts, he wasn't denied in the decider. He hit a brilliant 64 checkout to dump out Mighty Mike.

It has been a day of shocks in Milton Keynes and among them is Gerwyn Price. The Number One seed who produced brilliance in his opener was poor to begin his game against Madars Razma and despite getting better, he lost out 6-4 and won't be taking home another title today.

Gary Anderson might though. 'The Flying Scotsman' survived an almighty scare against Matthew Edgar surviving three match darts before taking out 76 to edge through 6-5.

Other players to fall by the wayside include Daryl Gurney who lost out to the ultra consistent Gabriel Clemens who reached the semi-finals yesterday, 'The German Giant' hit a 105 average to see off 'Superchin' 6-3.

A raft of big averages have been hit in this round with Peter Wright one of the main names still involved, he hit 105 in seeing off Ricky Evans 6-3. Martijn Kleermaker continues his impressive start to life in the PDC , he averaged 102 in defeating Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4.

Ryan Joyce faced his fellow North East ace, Chris Dobey for the second day running and a 103 average from 'Relentless' showed his form as he won 6-4.

Click here for more information about the PDC Summer Series, including the prize money breakdown.

Players Championship 10
Last 32

Madars Razma 6 | 4 Gerwyn Price
Ryan Joyce 6 | 4 Chris Dobey
Niels Zonneveld 6 | 1 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Glen Durrant 6 | 4 Jan Dekker
Gary Anderson 6 | 5 Matthew Edgar
Gabriel Clemens 6 | 3 Daryl Gurney
Martin Atkins (Wigan) 6 | 3 Bradley Brooks
Jonny Clayton 6 | 3 Christian Bunse
Peter Wright 6 | 3 Ricky Evans
Jermaine Wattimena 6 | 5 James Wilson
Nathan Aspinall 6 | 1 Mickey Mansell
James Wade 6 | 2 Ciaran Teehan
Martijn Kleermaker 6 | 4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Jason Lowe 6 | 4 Adrian Lewis
Maik Kuivenhoven 6 | 5 Michael van Gerwen
Dave Chisnall 6 | 4 Benito van de Pas


Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments