De Sousa claims first European Tour title with sensational win over Van Gerwen in European Darts Grand Prix final

Jose de Sousa is the latest new winner of a European Tour event as his rise continues with a sensational victory over Michael van Gerwen in the final of the European Darts Grand Prix.

A truly excellent display from Portuguese thrower dubbed ‘The Special One’ saw him hit a 105.8 average, seven 180’s and 61.5% on the doubles en route to an 8-4 win.

He joins Devon Petersen and Gerwyn Price as winners on a truncated European Tour this year in only his third appearance in these events as he adds to his two Players Championship wins last year and avenges a previous defeat to Michael van Gerwen during a PDC Summer Series Final.

To begin the tie, Van Gerwen capitalised on two missed darts at doubles and he took 84 for an immediate break of throw.

De Sousa hit back with an 84 checkout of his own on the bullseye to level it up at 1-1, he hit double 20 from there to hold and hit the front at 2-1.

Van Gerwen took out 68 to square it up at 2-2 but ‘The Special One’ went on a special run claiming a break on 87 for an 11-darter to make it 4-2 and he held throw from there to shell shock MVG at 5-2 up.

A brilliant 86 checkout saw De Sousa hold again to make it 6-3 and go two away. A brilliant 180-128 salvo left 134 for the Portuguese ace but with MVG leaving 68, he took it back to 6-4 with a hold.

A stunning 146 after Van Gerwen pressured with a 171 saw De Sousa dispel a potentially tide turning moment to go one away at 7-4.

De Sousa left himself 88 with Van Gerwen back on 121 having set up with a 145 but in true fashion from the former, he smashed in the aforementioned 88 going accidental treble eight, double 14 and double 18 to win it.

Evening session (from 6:00 PM)


Maik Kuivenhoven (87.63) 4-6 (89.56) Ian White

Darius Labanauskas (95.58) 4-6 (98.09) Jose De Sousa

Mensur Suljovic (96.97) 6-0 (81.37) Rob Cross

Nathan Aspinall (98.9) 5-6 (99.65) Michael van Gerwen

Semi finals

Ian White (94.15) 6-7 (99.6) Jose de Sousa

Mensur Suljovic (95.3) 1-7 (96.96) Michael van Gerwen


Jose de Sousa (105.79) 8-4 (92.43) Michael van Gerwen

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments