Field for 2021 PDC World Darts Championship confirmed

The field has been confirmed ahead of the 2020/21 PDC World Darts Championship after the conclusion of the PDPA Qualifiers on Monday afternoon.

Michael van Gerwen heads up the field with being first in the PDC Order of Merit and like the rest of the top 32, a second round start will start the tournament off in just under two weeks.

Peter Wright is the defending champion and number two seed and will likely as is customary play on the opening night at the Alexandra Palace. Gerwyn Price, Michael Smith and Rob Cross round out the top five.

Gabriel Clemens and Ricky Evans are the final two players sitting inside the top 32. While Damon Heta and Ryan Searle sit atop the ProTour Order of Merit after both claiming maiden ProTour wins this year.

Dirk van Duijvenbode will make his return for the first time since his infamous 180 bust against Raymond van Barneveld back in 2016 in a year which has seen him become a first time major finalist.

Steve Beaton will play in a record breaking 30th consecutive World Championship also next month. While there is a heavy Dutch contingent debuting including Martijn Kleermaker, Derk Telnekes, Maik Kuivenhoven and Niels Zonneveld with the latter qualifying earlier on Monday.

Multiple Lakeside World Champion, Scott Waites will also make his debut after coming through the ProTour Order of Merit.

While International Qualifier wise, Matthew Edgar, Ciaran Teehan, Nick Kenny, Jamie Lewis as well as Zonneveld and Karel Sedlacek joined the field through the Qualifier.

The legend Paul Lim and 'The Gunner' Lourence Ilagan will make returns to the Alexandra Palace once more, with the likes of Edward Shoji Foulkes, Di Zhuang and Toru Suzuki joining them as debutants from the Asian Qualifiers.

Lisa Ashton and Deta Hedman came through the Women's Series as qualifiers, while returns will take place for Keane Barry as well as CDC standouts Matt Campbell and Danny Baggish.

David Evans who has impressed so many will make his PDC ProTour debut next year but 'Stretch' is set for his PDC World Championship debut next month after winning the Challenge Tour.

While there are also spots for German Superleague winner Nico Kurz and the dangerous multiple Soft Tip World Champion, Boris 'The Biggest' Krcmar who came through the East Europe Qualifier after his maiden year on the Tour.

The ProTour and International Qualifiers will find out their first round fate on Thursday December 3 when the draw takes place on Sky Sports News with the action kicking off on Tuesday, December 15.

Top 32 PDC Order of Merit

1 Michael van Gerwen

2 Peter Wright

3 Gerwyn Price

4 Michael Smith

5 Rob Cross

6 Nathan Aspinall

7 James Wade

8 Dave Chisnall

9 Dimitri van den Bergh

10 Ian White

11 Daryl Gurney

12 Glen Durrant

13 Gary Anderson

14 Jose de Sousa

15 Krzysztof Ratajski

16 Joe Cullen

17 Jonny Clayton

18 Simon Whitlock

19 Mervyn King

20 Mensur Suljovic

21 Adrian Lewis

22 Chris Dobey

23 Jeffrey de Zwaan

24 Jermaine Wattimena

25 Danny Noppert

26 Stephen Bunting

27 Vincent van der Voort

28 Jamie Hughes

29 Devon Petersen

30 Brendan Dolan

31 Gabriel Clemens

32 Ricky Evans

Pro Tour Qualifiers

Damon Heta

Ryan Searle

Dirk van Duijvenbode

Ross Smith

Madars Razma

Ryan Joyce

Martijn Kleermaker

Kim Huybrechts

Jeff Smith

William O'Connor

Steve Lennon

Jason Lowe

Maik Kuivenhoven

Derk Telnekes

Darius Labanauskas

Mickey Mansell

Adam Hunt

Max Hopp

Scott Waites

Andy Boulton

Ryan Murray

Keegan Brown

Steve Beaton

Luke Woodhouse

Luke Humphries

Callan Rydz

Mike De Decker

Ron Meulenkamp

Steve West

Wayne Jones

Andy Hamilton

John Henderson

International Qualifiers

Lisa Ashton

Danny Baggish

James Bailey

Keane Barry

Bradley Brooks

Matt Campbell

Cameron Carolissen

David Evans

Edward Shouji Foulkes

Amit Gilitwala

Dmitriy Gorbunov

Deta Hedman

Lourence Ilagan

Marko Kantele

Boris Krcmar

Nico Kurz

Daniel Larsson

Danny Lauby

Paul Lim

Chengan Liu

Gordon Mathers

Ryan Meikle

Diogo Portela

Haupai Puha

Toru Suzuki

Di Zhuang

Ciaran Teehan

Matthew Edgar

Jamie Lewis

Nick Kenny

Niels Zonneveld

Karel Sedlacek

Place comments