Field for Melbourne Darts Masters 2019 confirmed

With the conclusion of various qualifiers, the field for the Melbourne Darts Masters has been confirmed with the event set to be the fourth on the World Series calendar and the second on the Oceanic leg.

Peter Wright is the current champion in the event having defeated Michael Smith in last year's tournament in a 11-8 win. He will be back to defend his title alongside the other PDC representatives including the likes of Michael van Gerwen, Rob Cross; as well as on his farewell tour, Raymond van Barneveld.

As usual with these events in Australia, Corey Cadby and Kyle Anderson have both been given wildcards into the tournament. There was also spots through various qualifiers and Order of Merits.

James Bailey and Brisbane Masters champion Damon Heta will be involved in Melbourne due to their status as DPA number one and number two. Coming through the qualifiers were Robbie King, Tim Pusey who impressed in spells last year, Mick Lacey; as well as Haupai Puha who is involved in every event in Australia and New Zealand.

The event is set to take place on August 16-17 at The Melbourne Arena; with one more event after this one set to take place in Hamilton in New Zealand.

Invited PDC Representatives
Michael van Gerwen
Rob Cross
Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright
James Wade
Simon Whitlock
Raymond van Barneveld

Regional Qualifiers
Wildcard - Kyle Anderson
Wildcard - Corey Cadby
DPA Number One - Damon Heta
DPA Number Two - James Bailey
DPA Qualifier One - Robbie King
DPA Qualifier Two - Tim Pusey
DPA Qualifier Three - Mick Lacey
DPNZ Qualifier - Haupai Puha

Field for Melbourne Darts Masters 2019 confirmed
Photo: Richard Walker/PDC


Most read

Full ITV 4 TV Guide for the 2020 World Series of Darts Finals

The live darting action continues this weekend with the World Series of Darts Finals taking place at the Salzburgarena in Aus...

Ashton claims massive scalp with opening round win over Smith in early results on Day One of PDC Autumn Series

Already there has been a big result in the PDC Autumn Series with Lisa Ashton sending Michael Smith home early on Day One wit...

PDC Autumn Series Order of Merit after Day Five

The PDC Autumn Series will be played from September 12-16. The results will count towards the PDC Autumn Series Order of Meri...

Timeline: How the BDO slowly bled to death after 47 years

What had been in the air for quite some time after a financial problems, messing around with tournament draws and a bad comme...

Van Gerwen dumped out in second round of PDC Autumn Series Day Two by Heta

Michael van Gerwen is out in the second round of the PDC Autumn Series after Damon Heta claimed a big scalp on Day Two.Van Ge...

Van der Voort complains about dartboard at World Series of Darts Finals: 'I bet to any money in the world something is different'

Vincent van der Voort booked a 6-0 whitewash victory over Joe Cullen to secure a place in the second round at the World Serie...

Results Day One - PDC Autumn Series: Wright sees off Razma in rout to win title (Live Blog)

The 14th Players Championship event of the season will be played during the first day of the PDC Autumn Series. All results c...

Draw released for World Series of Darts Finals Qualifier: Clayton set to face Ashton, Beaton against Van Duijvenbode

The draw has been released for the World Series of Darts Finals Qualifier which begins six days of action in Niedernhausen wi...

Lewis decides to "step away" from darts temporarily after PDC Autumn Series withdrawals

Jamie Lewis has decided to step away from darts temporarily after he withdrew from the last few days of the PDC Autumn Series...

Van Gerwen makes a return to old darts for PDC Autumn Series

Michael van Gerwen has decided to go back to his old darts, which he used before switching to darts manufacturer Winmau.The w...

Read more

Just in

How to watch the 2020 German Darts Championship live

The German Darts Championship is on the schedule from September 25-27. This European Tour tournament is broadcasted by the PD...

Former Sky Sports Darts presenter Dave Clark targets Everest after 90-mile walk in aid of Parkinson's UK

Former Sky Sports Darts presenter Dave Clark is targeting Everest after completing another walk in aid of Parkinson's UK, thi...

China Qualifier confirmed for PDC World Championship

The PDC China Qualifier for the 2020/21 PDC World Championship is set to take place on Saturday October 17 in Zhoushan.A 48-p...

2020 German Darts Championship schedule – Friday afternoon session

The European Tour is back on Friday afternoon with the start of the German Darts Championship in a familiar venue of Halle 39...

Huybrechts, Harris and Kurz among last qualifiers for German Darts Championship

Ronny Huybrechts, Cody Harris and Nico Kurz are among the last six players who qualified for the German Darts Championship, a...

Read more