THROWBACK VIDEO: Michael van Gerwen wins his first Premier League after one of most iconic finishes ever

Michael van Gerwen will attempt to win the Premier League Darts for the eighth time in his career on Thursday night. We look back at his first-ever final victory in 2013 in this article.

That year, Van Gerwen qualified to participate in the prestigious darts competition for the first time, after experiencing his definitive breakthrough at the PDC in 2012. After winning the World Grand Prix in 2012 and final places at the Grand Slam of Darts and the World Darts Championship, "Mighty Mike" had moved up to fourth in the world rankings.

He immediately caused a stir in his debut year. Taylor had won the league stage in each of the eight previous editions. Six times "The Power" was also able to lift the trophy on Finals Night.

In 2013, Taylor would fail to win the league stage for the first time in Premier League history. Van Gerwen started the league with two losses, but with eleven wins in the fourteen matches that followed, 'The Green Machine' finished at the top of the league standings with 24 points. Taylor was only third with 20 points, as Raymond van Barneveld still managed to squeeze in between them with 23 points.

In the first semifinal, Taylor and Van Barneveld faced each other. 'The Power' shut off a potential all-Dutch final beating 'Barney' 8-4. Van Gerwen then won 8-4 in the second semifinal against James Wade, who had finished fourth in the competition.

So in the final Van Gerwen and Taylor faced each other, almost five months after Taylor had won from the Dutchman in the final of the World Darts Championship. In the final, Taylor took the lead in the early stages by taking a 5-2 lead with an 81 finish. However, Van Gerwen battled his way back to 5-5.

Van Gerwen then picked up two more legs and led 7-5 after 12 legs. Taylor however came back to 7-7 after a wonderful 160 finish. The next three legs went with the darts, making the score 9-8 in Van Gerwen's favor after seventeen legs.

Then came the moment that entered the history books as one of the most iconic moments in anyway Premier League Darts and perhaps the entire sport of darts because it was symbolic of the changing of the guard between Taylor and Van Gerwen.

Both men began the 18th leg with a single treble in the first turn. Taylor then followed with a 99 score, before Van Gerwen already increased the pressure with a 140 score. In the third turn, Taylor and Van Gerwen both threw two triples, allowing Van Gerwen to reach 132. Taylor was unable to throw for the match from 168, but left tops with a 128 score.

The best dart player of all time did not get that chance, however, as Van Gerwen picked up his first-ever Premier League title with a majestic 132 finish via bull, triple 19 and bullseye. It earned the Dutchman the top prize of 150,000 pounds and his first-ever victory over his great rival Taylor in a major final.

Michael van Gerwen pins majestic 132 finish to seal Premier League title.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments