Netherlands and Ireland seal Six Nations Cup titles with England defeated in both finals

The Six Nations Cup was held for the first time in three years this past weekend in Renfrew, Scotland with the Netherlands and Ireland sealing the respective Men's and Women's titles.

A team comprising Wesley Plaisier, Danny van Trijp, Kristiaan de Boer, Patrick van den Boogaard and Owen Roelofs saw off England's James Hurrell, Justin Hood, Scott Taylor, recent PDC ranking winner Scott Williams and Luke Littler in a 13-11 win in the final to retain the title. It was Roelofs who finished it off with an 86 checkout.

It is the third time in a row they have sealed the Six Nations on the men's side with Plaisier also taking the individual title with victory also over Taylor in the final.

While in the Ladies' final, it was Ireland who took it with the team of Katie Sheldon, Robyn Byrne and Caroline Breen proving too strong surprisingly for Lorraine Winstanley, Deta Hedman and current World Champion, Beau Greaves with the latter sealing the individual title seeing off Rhian O'Sullivan in a superb final with an 89 average in a rematch of the Dutch Open.

Byrne was the first player to take a leg off Greaves during this year's Six Nations and despite Hedman leveling up the tie at 4-4, Sheldon had the throw against Winstanley in the final to seal it and pinned double 20 to do so.

Read more about:
WDF Six Nations Cup

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments