Boris Krcmar stuns Nathan Aspinall at Poland Darts Masters; Michael Smith and Rob Cross win through

Rob Cross, Boris Krcmar and Michael Smith are the first three men to qualify for the last eight at the Poland Darts Masters in Gliwice. Krcmar was responsible for the first shock of the tournament on Friday night.

Krcmar provided the first elimination of one of the PDC stars by sending Nathan Aspinall home. Aspinall initially managed to turn a 0-2 deficit into a 3-2 lead, but was broken again in the seventh leg by a fine 78 finish from his Croatian opponent. With a 70 check-out in the tenth leg, Krcmar finally put a 6-4 final score on the scoreboard.

Smith prevented himself from following in Aspinall's wake at the Poland Darts Masters. 'Bullyboy' fell behind 3-4 with a break in his match against Radek Szaganski. Smith broke him right back in the eighth leg with a 15-darter and recaptured the lead with a 14-darter in the ninth leg. With a 16-darter the Englishman then qualified for the quarter-finals.

Cross had no trouble putting Sebastian Bialecki on the bus home. He broke his Polish opponent immediately in the first leg with a 156 finish and then ran out to a 4-0 lead with a 75 check-out. Cross then missed one chance at 5-0, before Bialecki scored with a 16-darter to make it 4-1. The sixth leg was the least of the match. First there were three misses on the doubles by Cross and then two by Bialecki. It was 'Voltage' who managed to make it 5-1 with a 20-darter. Then the former world champion closed the match with a 100 finish.

The World Series tournament in Poland is the fifth tournament of the season on the World Series circuit. In January, Luke Littler won the Bahrain Darts Masters, while Michael van Gerwen took the overall victory at the Dutch Darts Masters in Den Bosch.

Rob Cross captured the title in early June at the US Darts Masters in New York, and Gerwyn Price showed the best at the Nordic Darts Masters in Copenhagen. Later this year, World Series tournaments will also be played in Australia and New Zealand before the World Series Finals take place Sept. 13-15 in Amsterdam.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments