These are the five most memorable finals ever in Premier League Darts storied history

The 20th season of Premier League Darts comes to a conclusion on Thursday night. Luke Littler, Luke Humphries, Michael van Gerwen and Michael Smith will compete in the playoffs with final victory and a place in history on the line.

First, they will try to secure a spot in the final. In this article, and looks back at the five most memorable finishes in the history of this event.

2010: Phil Taylor 10-8 James Wade

The 2010 Premier League Darts final entered the history books as one of darts' most historic matches. Darts legend Phil Taylor became the first player ever to throw two nine darters in one match at a major tournament.

Those nine darters were necessary, because challenger James Wade offered excellent resistance. After fourteen legs the score was still 7-7, despite Taylor having already thrown his first nine darter in the second leg. At the end of the match 'The Power' took victory, securing control from his compatriot by throwing a nine-darter in the fifteenth leg, followed by a 10-darter in the sixteenth leg. In the end, Taylor won the final 10-8.

2013: Michael van Gerwen 10-8 Phil Taylor

Michael van Gerwen entered the Premier League Darts for the first time in 2013. The Dutchman immediately ended an impressive run by Phil Taylor, who until then had won the league stage eight times in a row.

The final of this edition went down in the history books as one of the most iconic moments of Premier League Darts, and perhaps the sport of darts in general. It was symbolic of the seizure of power between Taylor and Van Gerwen. With an outstanding 132 finish, Van Gerwen managed to decide the final 10-8.

2014: Raymond van Barneveld 10-6 Michael van Gerwen

In 2014, for the first time, there was no Englishman in the final of Premier League Darts. Michael van Gerwen won 8-7 over Gary Anderson in the first semifinal, after which Raymond van Barneveld ensured a uniquely Dutch final with an 8-5 win over Phil Taylor. It was "Barney's" first win over his arch-rival at a televised tournament in nearly six years.

This was followed by a victory over his Dutch rival, who was the defending champion in the Premier League Darts at the time. The Hague native won the Dutch classic 10-6, giving Van Barneveld his first career Premier League win.

2017: Michael van Gerwen 11-10 Peter Wright

Peter Wright has won almost all majors at least once or more in his career. The Premier League Darts is missing on 'Snakebite''s record, although he will never get a better chance than in 2017, when Wright let the Premier League title completely slip from his hands.

In the twentieth leg of the final, the Scot missed no fewer than six match darts to win the tournament. Wright then started the last leg, but he was already completely shattered mentally and to make matters worse, his opponent Michael van Gerwen kicked off the decider with a 180 score. With a 12-darter, "Mighty Mike" then claimed the final victory, leaving Wright empty-handed.

2022: Michael van Gerwen 11-10 Joe Cullen

Joe Cullen also missed the chance to beat Michael van Gerwen in the final of the Premier League Darts in 2022. 'The Rockstar' made it to the final on his debut in the Premier League, which was played in Berlin.

In the final, Van Gerwen took a 10-9 lead before the Dutchman couldn't finish it off on his own leg, allowing Cullen to break and force a decider which the Englishman had the advantage of throw.

Van Gerwen was first to have a shot for the title, but could not garner a matchdart from 120. Cullen was waiting on 68 and had the perfect opportunity for the title. After finding the single 20 and the single 16, the double 16 was missed by a millimeter on the outside. Van Gerwen then struck relentlessly on double 14 to win his sixth of seven Premier League titles.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments