Jim McEwan wins fifth season of MODUS Super Series at the expense of Mareno Michels

Jim McEwan crowned himself the winner of the MODUS Super Series on Saturday night. The Scottish darter proved too strong for Mareno Michels in the final.

For the previous twelve weeks, dozens of players competed for a spot in the final week of the MODUS Super Series 4. The twelve weekly winners received invitations to do so and competed this week for the top prize of £20,000.

The six best players from Monday through Friday's pool matches were allowed to compete on Saturday in the final day, which consisted of two groups. In Group A, Andreas Harrysson managed to win both his matches against Sebastian Bialecki (4-3) and Robert Grundy (4-3), while Bialecki finished second after a 4-0 win over Grundy.

Mareno Michels remained unbeaten in the group stage after victories over Darryl Pilgrim (4-1) and Jim McEwan (4-3). Because McEwan did win 4-3 over Pilgrim, the Scot did advance to the semifinals.

In the first semifinal, McEwan eliminated Harrysson (4-2). Michels then became the second finalist by defeating Bialecki 4-0. So in the final, McEwan and Michels faced each other for the second time this evening. McEwan revenged for his earlier defeat and defeated Michels 4-0 to claim the title.

MODUS Super Series - Champions Week

Saturday, Nov. 4

Group A

Andreas Harrysson 4-3 Sebastian Bialecki

Sebastian Bialecki 4-0 Rob Grundy

Rob Grundy 3-4 Andreas Harrysson

Group B

Darryl Pilgrim 1-4 Mareno Michels

Mareno Michels 4-3 Jim McEwan

Jim McEwan 4-3 Darryl Pilgrim


Andreas Harrysson 2-4 Jim McEwan

Mareno Michels 4-3 Sebastian Bialecki


Jim McEwan 4-0 Mareno Michels

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments