Pietreczko only seventh player to win a Euro Tour as a non-seed

Ricardo Pietreczko caused a sensation at the German Darts Championship last weekend. 'Pikachu' defeated Peter Wright 8-4 in the final.

Pietreczko, who was only 63rd in the world rankings before this tournament, is only the seventh player to win a tournament as a non-seed since the inception of the European Tour.

The first was John Part in 2013. Then we had Vincent van der Voort and James Wade in 2014, Max Hopp in 2018, Jamie Hughes in 2019 and Devon Petersen in 2020.

Pietreczko incidentally moved up to 53rd in the world rankings as a result of his tournament victory. The 28-year-old German is also certain to participate in the European Championship and the World Darts Championship.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments