Start of Players Championship campaign shows particular similarity to 2017 season opening

Last Monday and Tuesday, the seventh and eighth Players Championship tournaments of the season were played. Chris Dobey and Danny Noppert won these tournaments.

As a result, the first eight Players Championship tournaments of the season have had eight different winners. Luke Littler, Gary Anderson, Ryan Searle, Damon Heta, Raymond van Barneveld and Dave Chisnall also managed to win a floor tournament.

Only once before in the 22-year history of the Players Championship circuit has the first eight tournaments had a different winner each time. That happened in 2017, writes TheRedBit180. Then Alan Norris, Gary Anderson, Rob Cross, Simon Whitlock, Adrian Lewis, Michael van Gerwen, Daryl Gurney and Joe Cullen won a Players Championship tournament.

That series then came to an end as Michael van Gerwen captured his second title at Players Championship 9. Van Gerwen is still without a Pro Tour title this year, so 'Mighty Mike' could keep the series alive this year if he manages to win Players Championship 9 again in 2024.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments