Unlucky draw: Cullen lost eight times to eventual winner at TV tournaments last season

Joe Cullen started last season in brilliant fashion by winning his first major title at the Masters in January 2022. Further highlights were quarterfinals at the Grand Slam of Darts and Players Championship Finals, plus, of course, his final place in the Premier League Darts.

Statistics platform Darts Tracker published a remarkable statistic showing that after winning the Masters, Cullen lost to the eventual winner in eight of his 12 subsequent television tournaments.

He lost in his Premier League final to Michael van Gerwen, but 'Mighty Mike' also proved too strong at the World Matchplay and Queensland Darts Masters before the Dutchman won the tournament.

The same fate also befell Cullen at the New South Wales Darts Masters (against Jonny Clayton), World Series of Darts Finals (against Gerwyn Price), European Darts Championship (against Ross Smith), Grand Slam of Darts (against Michael Smith) and at the past World Darts Championship (against Michael Smith).

Read more about:
PDC Joe Cullen

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments