Fallon Sherrock and Mikuru Suzuki qualify for PDC World Darts Championship through Women's Series

Fallon Sherrock and Mikuru Suzuki will make their returns to the Alexandra Palace in December as the representatives of the PDC Women's Series at the 2023/24 PDC World Darts Championship.

Beau Greaves will finish top of the Order of Merit come what may, but declined the invite in order to seek out becoming a two-time WDF Women's World Champion at the start of December.

The PDC issued an ultimatum telling players to choose in late September, with Greaves so far the only player to pick Lakeside over Ally Pally. Lisa Ashton also put herself out of the running picking the WDF and didn't turn up to the final weekend.

This meant that Suzuki was basically secured anyway and Sherrock only had Rhian O'Sullivan to contend with in terms of threat for her spot and with defeat for the Welshwoman in the early stages of Event 22, the two spots are now set.

Back in 2019, Sherrock became the first female player to win a match at the PDC World Darts Championship winning two consecutive which gained her worldwide attention and acclaim and she has since become an MBE this year also.

After dominating during the early years of the Women's Series, Greaves has now stolen a march, but she still qualified after missing out in 2021 for 2022.

Queen of the Palace qualifies by right after 2023 call-up controversy

Before controversially sealing a spot in 2023 as the Women's World Matchplay champion late on after no spot was initially given after winning in Blackpool. Some felt that Sherrock had been shoehorned into the tournament. She then lost to Ricky Evans in the opening round 3-1.

The PDC had hoped to have three women going forward which was a key aspect to Sherrock getting a late call-up but this has since fallen by the wayside for now, with the Greaves' spot now going to the PDPA Qualifier in November.

Suzuki will make her return for the first time in four years to the PDC World Darts Championship. After winning the World title in the former BDO twice in a row in 2019 and 2020, she lost to James Richardson in a narrow match 3-2 and could've been the history maker instead of Sherrock.

But has since like Sherrock won three Women's Series titles this year and was unlucky not to win more with Beau Greaves accounting for multiple final defeats to 'The Miracle'. They will now both battle for the final Grand Slam spot on offer for Wolverhampton in November.

Greaves is already qualified meaning that the next highest-ranked player is in and that will dominate the final three tournaments of this year's Women's Series.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments