Danny Noppert set to team up with Michael van Gerwen for Dutch success at World Cup of Darts

It looks like Danny Noppert will be taking part in the 2024 World Cup of Darts on behalf of the Netherlands along with Michael van Gerwen. The next edition of this country tournament is scheduled for June 27-30 in Frankfurt.

Normally, a country's top two players in the world rankings compete in the World Cup of Darts. As number three in the world, Van Gerwen was already sure of an invitation to this tournament.

Noppert was competing with Dirk van Duijvenbode for the second spot on the Dutch team. With one tournament left until the cutoff, Noppert cannot be overtaken by his compatriot. Noppert is currently ranked No. 12 on the PDC Order of Merit, while Van Duijvenbode is seventeenth.

Only the Dutch Darts Championship in Rosmalen from May 24 to 26 counts in the qualifying race. The winner of that tournament picks up 30,000 pounds in prize money, but the difference between Noppert and Van Duijvenbode on the cleaned rankings is 49,750 pounds.

Van Gerwen last competed in the World Cup of Darts in 2021. In 2022, the Vlijmen native was unable to compete in the Nations tournament due to an injury, while in 2023 he had undergone surgery on his teeth and had not recovered sufficiently from that. This year, 'Mighty Mike' does plan to return to action on behalf of the Netherlands.

Like last year, the World Cup of Darts begins with a group stage. However, the four highest-ranked countries enter from the group stage. They are England, the Netherlands, Wales and Scotland. The Netherlands and Wales still have to battle it out among themselves which country will be seeded second and which country will be seeded third.

With Van Gerwen and Noppert, the Netherlands currently has the numbers three and 12 in the world. Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton are sixth and tenth, respectively, on the PDC Order of Merit. England will take on Luke Humphries and Michael Smith, with Humphries making his debut in the English shirt. Peter Wright and Gary Anderson will normally make up the Scottish delegation.

The Netherlands' last success at the World Cup of Darts was a while ago. Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld gave the Netherlands its fourth title at the World Cup of Darts in 2018, after Van Gerwen and Van Barneveld were also successful together in 2014 and 2017. Moreover, Van Barneveld won the very first edition of this tournament together with Co Stompé in 2010.

England also stands at four World Cup titles. Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis triumphed together in 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016. After that, there was no English success. Gary Anderson and Peter Wright won the tournament with Scotland in 2019, while Wright took the title again in 2021 but alongside John Henderson.

Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton captured the first title for Wales at the World Cup of Darts in 2020. In 2023, the two darters from Wales were again the best, allowing them to travel to the upcoming edition as defending champions, In between, Australian duo Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock won the tournament in 2022.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments