These are all the participating countries and players at the 2024 World Cup of Darts

The participating countries and pairs of all 40 participants in the 2024 World Cup of Darts have been announced by the PDC. In the annual nations tournament, players do not play individually, but as a team with another compatriot.

The tournament was won for the second time by Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton in 2023, after they previously proved the best team in 2020. However Price cannot participate in the upcoming edition of the World Cup of Darts due to health raesons. His place will be taken by Jim Williams. Four-time champion England will be represented by world champion Luke Humphries - making his debut at the World Cup - and world number three Michael Smith. Peter Wright and Gary Anderson make up the Scottish team. Michael van Gerwen and Danny Noppert will play on behalf of the Netherlands at the World Cup of Darts.

On behalf of the Netherlands, Michael van Gerwen and Danny Noppert will be in action at the World Cup of Darts. Three times Van Gerwen was part of the winning team. Then he played with Raymond van Barneveld, while 'Barney' also took the title once together with Co Stompé. However, the last World Cup title for the Netherlands dates back to 2018. These four nations will not be in action until the knockout stage of the tournament, as they are exempt from participating in the group stage as top nations.

The remaining 36 teams will be split into 12 groups of three countries each. All group matches will be played on Thursday, June 27, and Friday, June 28. The group winner of each pool will advance to the last 16. Countries starting in the group stage include outsiders such as Belgium (Dimitri van den Bergh and Kim Huybrechts), Australia (Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock), Northern Ireland (Josh Rock and Brendan Dolan) and Germany (Martin Schindler and Gabriel Clemens).

Incidentally, in addition to Van Gerwen and Noppert, three other Dutchmen are competing at the World Cup of Darts. Jeffrey de Graaf is making his debut as a Swede at the World Cup of Darts alongside Oskar Lukasiak, while Jules van Dongen is making his third appearance on behalf of the United States. Van Dongen forms a team with Danny Lauby this year. Cor Dekker is on the Norwegian team along with Hakon Bjorge Helling.

The second round, featuring the last remaining 16 countries, will compete for a spot in the quarterfinals on Saturday, June 29. These will take place on Sunday afternoon, June 30. The semifinals and finals are scheduled for Sunday evening.

Participating countries and pairs at World Cup of Darts 2024

Competing Nations & Pairings

Seeds 1-4 - Through to Round Two

(1) England - Luke Humphries, Michael Smith

(2) Wales - Jonny Clayton, Jim Williams

(3) Netherlands - Michael van Gerwen, Danny Noppert

(4) Scotland - Peter Wright, Gary Anderson

Seeds 5-16 - Seeded for Group Stage

(5) Belgium - Dimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts

(6) Northern Ireland - Josh Rock, Brendan Dolan

(7) Germany - Martin Schindler, Gabriel Clemens

(8) Australia - Damon Heta, Simon Whitlock

(9) Republic of Ireland - William O'Connor, Keane Barry

(10) Austria - Rowby-John Rodriguez, Mensur Suljovic

(11) Poland - Krzysztof Ratajski, Radek Szaganski

(12) Czechia - Adam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek

(13) Croatia - Boris Krcmar, Romeo Grvabac

(14) France - Jacques Labre, Thibault Tricole

(15) Sweden - Jeffrey de Graaf, Oskar Lukasiak

(16) USA - Danny Lauby, Jules van Dongen

Non-Seeded Nations

Bahrain - Basem Mahmood, Duda Durra

Canada - Matt Campbell, David Cameron

China - Xiaochen Zong, Chengan Liu

Chinese Taipei - Teng-Lieh Pupo, An-Sheng Lu

Denmark - Benjamin Reus, Claus Bendix Nielsen

Philippines - Christian Perez, Alexis Toylo

Finland - Marko Kantele, Teemu Harju

Gibraltar - Justin Hewitt, Craig Galliano

Guyana - Norman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald

Hong Kong - Lok Yin Lee, Man Lok Leung

Hungary - Gabor Jagica, Nandor Major

Iceland - Arngrimur Olafsson, Petur Gudmundsson

Italy - Michele Turetta, Massimo Dalla Rosa

Japan - Tomoya Goto, Ryusei Azemoto

Latvia - Madars Razma, Valters Melderis

Lithuania - Darius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas

Malaysia - Siik Hwang Wong, Mohamad Nasir

New Zealand - Haupai Puha, Ben Robb

Norway - Cor Dekker, Hakon Bjorge Helling

Portugal - Jose de Sousa, David Gomes

Singapore - Paul Lim, Harith Lim

Spain - Jose Justicia, Jesus Noguera

Taiwan - Teng-Lieh Pupo, An-Sheng Lu

South Africa - Johan Geldenhuys, Cameron Carolissen

Switzerland - Stefan Bellmont, Bruno Stockli

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments