Van Gerwen takes record-extending fifth title win at World Series Finals with convincing victory over weary Aspinall

Michael van Gerwen has won the World Series of Darts Finals for the fifth time in his career. 'Mighty Mike' triumphed 11-4 against Nathan Aspinall in the final.

Van Gerwen had his easiest match of the tournament in the final. The Vlijmen native booked hard-fought wins over William O'Connor (6-4), Dimitri van den Bergh (10-8) and Luke Humphries (11-10) to qualify for the final. So in that, Aspinall was the opponent. The Englishman dealt with Danny Noppert (6-3), Keegan Brown (10-5) and Peter Wright (11-9), but failed to make an energetic impression in the final against Van Gerwen.

Already in the fourth leg Van Gerwen had a break via a 15-darter. Aspinall got that break back, but a second break from Van Gerwen followed in the sixth leg with a 14-darter. Mighty Mike' then ran out a 160 finish, 14-darter and 18-darter to take a 7-3 lead.

To the break, the deficit continued to increase for Aspinall. Van Gerwen made it 10-3, before Aspinall could add one more leg to his tally. That was all, as Van Gerwen then threw himself to the title in Amsterdam with a 14-darter.

by Kieran Wood 0 Comments

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments